Church of the Holy Prophet Elijah Plachkovtsi

Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

It was built in 1882-83 by Usta Dragoshin Nikolov from Novakovtsi huts, Tryavna region, and his assistant Manyu from Velentsi huts. The cost of the construction was 32,000 groschen, and the place was donated by the brothers Belcho and Kosyu Stanevi from Kovachevtsi huts. The church was consecrated by the Metropolitan of Tarnovo Kliment on July 20, 1883. It is assumed that the bishop's throne is the work of master Hristo Damyanov, and the altar door - of Marko Tiholov. Samples of the late Tryavna School of Painting can be seen in this church. The icons, painted in the period 1881-1916, are the work of Tryavna painters, the frescoes are by Vasil Mihalev - a participant in the Zograf detachment during the April Uprising in 1876.

Initially, the service in the church was led by priest Koyu Vitanov from Tryavna.

The bell tower of the church was built in 1934 by Gancho Ivanov from the village of Bochukovtsi.

Location: Plachkovtsi, Buzludzha Street

Recommended

  • The clock tower
  • Popangelova's House
  • Church of St. Archangel Michael
  • Angel Kanchev House Museum
  • The art gallery
  • Museum of Carving and Ethnographic Art
  • The love fountain
  • Museum of the Tryavna Icon Painting School
  • Daskalova's House Museum
  • Slaveikovo's School
  • Raikova's house
  • Kalincheva's house and others

Location & Maps

село Плачковци (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)