Church of St. Demetrius in the village of Skortsite

Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

At the end of one of the quiet cobbled streets in the village of Skortsite is the church of St. Dimitar.

The church "St. Dimitar" in Skortsite was built by Usta Gencho Kanev in 1876. The "blessings" of the church iconostasis were made by Usta Gencho Novakov - Malkiya, and the royal doors are the work of Usta Dragoshin K. Dragoshinov, who also participated in the making on the iconostasis together with Petar Ganchev, Ivan Kasev, Tsanyu Kovachev, Tsanyu Ganchev and Gencho Petrov. The icons were made by Tsonyu Simeonov and his son Mityu Tsonev - painters from the Vitanov family.
In 1936 the church bell tower was erected with funds donated by the prominent Gabrovo manufacturer Hristo Raykov and his wife. It was consecrated on May 8, 1937 by Metropolitan Sophrony of Veliko Tarnovo.

Recommended

  • Buchukovsko Kale Fortress
  • Church of St. Panteleimon-Yagoda village
  • The village of Kmetovtsi
  • Church of the Nativity of the Mother of God - village of Kozi Rog

Location & Maps

село Скорците (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)