The Old Slaveykovo School Tryavna town
Overview
The old school (also the Tryavna school) is the first Bulgarian secular school in Tryavna, founded during the Revival.
The school was established in 1836-1839, approximately at the same time as the Aprilov High School in Gabrovo. Petko Slaveykov taught here for eight years and founded the "book depository" (city library, 1847). In 1871 the community center "Trudolyubie" was founded here.
In 1897 the new school building of the three-grade boys' school was completed, which was named after Petko R. Slaveykov after merging into a mixed school. Petko Rachev Slaveykov Secondary School became the successor of the school in the "new" building, which was expanded several times, near the building of the Old School.
Currently, the building has been restored and houses the city museum, the museum of the Tryavna School of Carving and Painting, permanent collections of philately, antique clocks, "Education to the liberation" (with documents and objects), "Measuring instruments from antiquity to the beginning of XX century ”(collection collected by Georgi Vezirov) and art gallery-donation by Dimitar and Nikola Kazakovi. The old school, as a museum site, is part of the Specialized Museum of Carving and Painting.
The Old School hosts cultural events and guest exhibitions, and the activity is greater during the Slaveykov holidays.
Recommended
- Captain Grandfather Nikola Square
- Popangelova's House
- Church of St. Archangel Michael
- Givgiren Bridge
- Clocktower
- Museum of Carving and Ethnographic Art
- The love fountain
- Museum of Asian and African Art
- Daskalov House Museum
- Museum of Tryavna Icon Painting School
- Raikova's house