Museum of the Tryavna Icon Painting School - Tryavna

(0 reviews)
Free
Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

Queen Joanna donated the BGN 5 million allocated to her by the National Assembly for the construction of a sanatorium in the vicinity of Tryavna for the rehabilitation of sick children. On June 14, 1938, the royal family visited Tryavna to choose a place for the construction. They choose one of the sunniest places in the area - where the sun shines from early morning to late afternoon. The project is assigned to arch. Jordan Sevov. The building was completed in the fall of 1943 and opened in March 1944 with a modest celebration. A chapel was built next to it. Coincidentally, it was never used as such. In 1984, the Tryavna Icon Painting School found its natural environment in this chapel. More than 160 original icons illustrate the mastery of several generations of icon painters from the Vitanovska, Zaharievska, Pop Dimitar Kanchevata, Minevska, Venkovska and Minchevska families. The exposition traces the development of the oldest Revival icon painting school in Bulgaria - Tryavna. A restoration of a 19th century painting workshop was made with original painting tools. The stages in the preparation and painting of the icons are shown.

Recommended

Dyado (Grandfather) Nicholas Square; Popangel's House; Church of St. Archangel Michael; Givgiren Bridge; Clocktower; Museum of Carving and Ethnographic Art; The love fountain; Museum of Asian and African Art; Daskalov House Museum; The Nightingale School; Raikova house and others

Location & Maps

Трявна (Direction)

Review (0)