Seitlyar Jamisi Mosque
Overview
The Seitlyar Jamisi Mosque in the town of Krumovgrad is located at Saedinenie Street Nr.6. It was built on the ruins of a medieval church. The original building was wooden, plank. In its present form, the building was built by the wealthy Seidi family in 1901, the minaret in 1904 and the vestibule in 1914. It is square in plan, with a four-pitched roof covered with Turkish tiles. It occupies a total area of 2152 sq.m, of which 840 sq m is built-up area and 1312 sq m is undeveloped area. The walls are made of crushed stone mortar, plastered. The plinth, the corners of the building, the cornice, the frames of the openings on the facades and the minaret are made of cut stone. The minaret is located to the northwest. There was a madrasa next to the old plank mosque, renovated in 1914, which does not exist today. The mosque is largely preserved in its original form. In the interior, the original wooden columns were replaced with reinforced concrete.
Recommended
- Thracian sanctuary near the village of Tatul
- Waterfall-village Dolna Kula
- Harman Kaya cult complex
- Sheitan Dere Gorge and Abrasive Wells
- The petrified forest Raven
- Utrobata Cave - Tatul
- Gouk In Cave and others