Clock Tower Tryavna city

Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

In the town of Tryavna is preserved the only Revival architectural ensemble - a square named Captain Grandfather Nichola.

On this square, in addition to other significant public buildings - monuments, is the Clock Tower. It was built in 1814 and its mechanism dates back to 1815. According to the legend, in order to get permission to build the tower, the women of Tryavna had to give up their traditional head ornaments - sokay. Architecturally, the individual parts of the tower are built in harmonious proportions. The bell was embossed by the Gabrovo masters Kancho and Gencho Radoslavovi in ​​1815. Later, in 1971, a tape recorder was attached to the clock mechanism, which at 22.00 after the last tenth ring of the bell, automatically turned on and from the tower began to the melody of the song "Inseparable" by Pencho Slaveykov is spread. With this it became the anthem of the city. The clock tower is one of the most valuable architectural monuments in our history. The tower was built with the help of the local population and by local craftsmen, whose names are unknown. The total height of the tower is 21.15 m. It consists of three parts: a parallelepiped base with a square cross-section, built of stones leveled with santrachi. The middle part is octagonal, ending with a small eaves covered with sheet metal. This part has changed its appearance several times - it is masonry and was originally plastered on the outside and whitewashed. In 1891 Ivan Halachev from the village of Bahretsi covered it with wood paneling, which was preserved with a natural darkened color of the wood until 1908. Then it was painted brown, and in 1926. repainted with green. This color turned out to be extremely unsuccessful for the tower, but only in 1966, when it was overhauled, the tower regained its appearance from 1814.

In the middle part of the tower is mounted the clock mechanism, which was originally only with a bell, without a dial and hands. It was made in 1815 by the Gabrovo masters Kanyu and Genyu Radoslavovi from Gabrovo.

The upper part of the tower is also octagonal, made of wood, covered with a pointed roof. Here is the bell of the clock, on which the inscription for the making of the mechanism in 1815 is preserved.

Recommended

  • Captain Grandfather Nikola Square
  • Popangelova's House
  • Church of St. Archangel Michael
  • Givgiren Bridge
  • The art gallery
  • Museum of Carving and Ethnographic Art
  • The love fountain
  • Museum of the Tryavna Icon Painting School
  • Daskalova's House Museum
  • Slaveikovo's School
  • Raikova's house and others

Location & Maps

ул. „Проф. Пенчо Райков“, 5350 Трявна (Direction)

Review (0)