Church of St. George Yambol city

(0 reviews)
Free
Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

St. George is a Bulgarian Orthodox church in the town of Yambol, Bulgaria. It is located in the Kargona district of Yambol. The first written records of church life in the then village of Karguna date back to 1587/1588, when the names of four priests in the village were mentioned, but no specific temples were mentioned. The church was mentioned in 1720, when Patriarch Chrysanthemum of Jerusalem visited the city and stayed in the Bulgarian quarter of Kargona. In his travelogue he mentions that there are two parishes there: the larger one, St. George and the Holy Trinity, as well as the names of six church ministers.
A tombstone with an inscription and the year 1737 is built into the walls of the church building. It was believed that this was the year of the foundation of the church, but this is not true.
Notes have been found on old liturgical books, the oldest of which dates from 1802 and reads "Bought, gifted - Abram, Radi and Mary". In the church is preserved an icon of St. Virgin Mary from 1764, and inscriptions on tombstones indicate years such as 1738 and even earlier. An expensive box (reliquary) made of silver and donated on March 13, 1808 has been preserved. These and other facts are enough to say that the church "St. Georgi ”has a very old origin. It was destroyed in the second half of the 18th century, and also in 1820. It was a small shabby building called a monastery. There was also a watermelon around the church. The modern church building was built in 1834-1835. It was badly damaged in a fire in January 1878 by retreating Turkish troops. After the Liberation, in 1881 began a major restoration of the roof, interior, etc.
The first priests known by name in the church "St. Georgi ”are from 1720 and they are: Avram Lefteri and priest Georgi (Yorgaki), as well as the monk Antim. The next famous names are of priest Stefo and priest Georgi from 1805. The first was born in the 1770s, and the second in 1775. Other priests who performed services in the church are: candle. Georgi Stanchev, candle. Spas Andonov, candle. Atanas Atanasov, candle. Kiro Bachvarov and others.
As architecture, the church "St. Georgi ”is similar to other church buildings. The church has dimensions: width - 18 m, length 30.20 m, height: north and south wall: 6.50 m, east and west - 7.50 m. The walls are 4.50 m high and 0.45 m thick. The old church was extended to the west as a new entrance was added from the outside. The church is illuminated by 10 windows on the lower wall measuring 90x130, and when opened they expand inwards and become 170x225. On the upper wall there are 12 windows, measuring 100x140 cm. In addition, there are 6 windows on the upper wall of the narthex, which illuminate the balcony - 4 to the west, 1 to the south and 1 to the north, and 4 windows on the altar - 1 on the apse, 1 below it, and 1 on the north and south walls. On the west wall, the church has a door through which one enters the courtyard. After the courtyard you enter the temple through 3 doors - 1 central and 2 side. In addition to these doors, there are others - 1 on the north and 2 on the south walls.
The iconostasis of the church is the work of the Debar masters Filipovi, led by Ivan Filipov, assisted by his nephew Ivan Yosifov and Nestor Alexiev.

Recommended

  • Museum of Military Glory
  • Bezisten-Yambol
  • Borovets Forest Park - Yambol
  • Ethnographic complex
  • Eski Mosque
  • The Church of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker and others

Location & Maps

8601 Каргон, Ямбол (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)