Russian monument, Sofia

(0 reviews)
$
Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

The Russian monument in Sofia is the first monument built in the capital of the newly liberated from Ottoman rule Bulgaria. It is located on the road on which Osman Nuri Pasha fled from Sofia to Pernik on December 22, 1877.

The monument was erected on June 29, 1882, with funds raised by the Russian people. The designer is not known, there are speculations that it is possible to be architect Vokar or the academician V. Yosifov Shervurd.

The monument is an obelisk: a four-walled pyramid with a truncated top above a pedestal of three steps. On the east side of the obelisk stands a marble relief of the Russian coat of arms and the Russian military order of bravery "St. George" (St. George's Cross). The inscription "Under the reign of Alexander II the Russian Emperor, Bulgaria was liberated on February 19, 1878" was engraved. On its western side, there is a second plaque with the inscription “Not to us. Not to us, but to your name. 1877 - 1878".

Recommended

  • Monument to Aleko Konstantinov
  • National Palace of Culture 

Location & Maps

Пл. „Руски паметник“, 1606 Център, София (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)