Sofia History Museum
Overview
Sofia History Museum is one of the oldest museums in the capital. A decision to found a town's museum was taken back in 1928 at the suggestion of Mayor Vladimir Vazov. Initially, the Museum combined the functions of a town's museum, library, and archives.
The first permanent museum exhibition opened on 1st December 1941. Unfortunately, the life of the building lasted very briefly – until the Sofia bombing during World War II, when it was destroyed.
The Museum, Library, Archives, and Art Gallery became separate and independent institutions back in 1952. The Museum took part in various activities related to the protection of the cultural heritage during the following decades, however, there was no exhibition area and the conditions for storing the objects in the museum's collection were tough. Meanwhile, the museum's collection has been growing and currently has about 120,000 objects, including the Research Library and Photo Archives.
In addition to the intensive collecting activities, more than 120 temporary exhibitions were organized at home and abroad in the 1980s. Three volumes of the 'Serdica - Sredets - Sofia' book have been issued, as well as other scientific and popular publications. Museum events are regularly present among the cultural events in the Capital.
The 'Stara Sofia' (Old Sofia) municipal enterprise with Sofia History Museum was founded in 1998 to replace the town's Museum. The mission of the municipal enterprise is to investigate, collect, preserve and manage any movable and immovable cultural heritage in Sofia Municipality. The 'Stara Sofia' municipal enterprise with Sofia History Museum was converted into Municipal Cultural Institute 'Sofia History Museum' in June 2012.
The issue with a place to house the permanent museum exhibition, which had remained unsolved for a long time, has been finally sorted out with the Decision of the Sofia Municipal Council from 1998 on the adaptation of the Central Mineral Baths building for a Museum of Sofia with an active presence of mineral water.
The museum has three branches - Basilica of St. Sophia, Exposition of National Reconciliation, Tomb of Prince Alexander I. It hosts exhibitions and other cultural events and publishes the scientific series "Serdika, Sredets, Sofia".
Recommended
- Central Mosque of Sofia
- Archaeological exposition "Ancient Serdica"
- Central Market Hall
- Central department store (TZUM)