Church of St. Michael in the village of Studena

Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

The construction of the church "St. Archangel Michael" began in 1837 and was completed in 1846. It was consecrated by the Greek Bishop Matei Samokovski. The planned project had external domes, but the Turkish district governor banned "so as not to irritate non-believers." That is why the church is unique with 3 internal domes located in the nave of the Holy Trinity and in the side vaulted ceilings along the entire length above the balcony. The church, which was originally started, fell because the place designated for its construction was swampy. To make the foundations stronger and to avoid creeping moisture, oak stakes, which have a shelf life of over 400 years, have been beaten. The church was icon-painted in 1869 by the teacher at the local school Konstantin Antikarev, who is a native of Samokov and is a graduate of the School of Painting.
The holiday of the village is on "Archangel's Day", it has been celebrated since the church was built. On this day, young and old with flowers and ritual breads honor the memory of Archangel Michael. It is believed that if the weather is clear and frost falls on this day, the winter will be good.
A gathering is held on "Ascension Day" (Savior's Day).

Recommended

  • Kra Kra Fortress
  • Kalkaski Monastery "St. Petka"
  • The Church of St. Ivan Rilski
  • Pernik Monastery "St. Panteleimon" and others

Location & Maps

село Студена (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)