Ilienski Monastery "Holy Prophet Elijah"

Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

The Ilien Monastery “St. Prophet Elijah ”is located in the Ilientsi district of Sofia. According to some sources, the Ilientsi Monastery was founded in the 12th century, and according to others - at the end of the 16th and the beginning of the 17th century. From the artifacts found around, dating from the pottery, it is reasonable to assume that there was a pagan temple here. Some of these remains can be seen in the construction of the church. Only the eastern part of the present church has survived from the original monastery. Three layers of frescoes from different periods have been found in the monastery temple. area. Stylistically and thematically, the frescoes of the Ilienski Monastery are similar to those in the Kurilovski, Seslavski, Eleshnishki and other monasteries in the region and are related to the work and influence of Pimen Zograf. This first layer of mural decoration is covered with lime and we can judge it from the little that has been cleared. The second period of the painting of the church followed its expansion at the end of the 17th century. The third layer of frescoes is from 1832, as read from an inscription in the church. The most probable painter is Toma Vishanov from the Bansko school, who is also the author of the decoration of the church "Protection of the Mother of God" in the Rila Monastery. The frescoes from 1832 show a desire for a realistic representation of figures and objects. Today the old church has been turned into a museum, there is a chapel, built in one of the buildings of the monastery. At present, Ilienski Monastery “St. Prophet Elijah ”is maintained by a lay person and is not inhabited by monks.

Recommended

  • Obradovski Monastery "St.  Mina
  • North, park, Sofia

Location & Maps

гр. София, кв. Илиенци - ул. Петуния 13. (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)