Mutual school St. St. Cyril and Methodius Kyustendil
Overview
The mutual school "St. St. Cyril and Methodius ”, also called the Cell School, is a secular primary school in Kyustendil, which functioned during the period 1849-1888. The first Bulgarian school in Kyustendil was established in 1820 in the yard of the Church of the Assumption in a specially built building north of the church, where today a bell tower rises. It was a cell school and functioned until 1849, when during the teaching of teacher Nikola Tondjorov in the southwest corner of the churchyard the new building of the mutual school was built and the old cell school was demolished. Initially, the massive body of the 3-nave school hall with dimensions of 15 x 10 m was built. 6 pcs. wooden columns bear a "sun" type ceiling with deep painted chalkels with polychrome fresco - plant motifs and teaching aids - globe, calendar, crystal, stereometric figure. , dedicated to St. Cyril and St. Methodius ”. In the 1850s, 2 rooms were added from the north with a 2-sided staircase and a corner. For the first time on May 11, 1867, during the teaching of Mikhail K. Bubotinov, the holiday of the national educators Cyril and Methodius was celebrated in the most solemn way and the school was named after them. After Bubotinov, Todor Peev was appointed head teacher. After the Liberation, the number of students increased significantly. In the 1890s, 2 rooms and a corridor were built from the south in connection with the construction of the new building of the Pedagogical School. The three construction stages were established during the conservation and restoration works (1977 - 1981). The legal successor of the mutual school (as an institution) is today's First Primary School "St. St. Cyril and Methodius ”. In the 1980s the building of the mutual school "St. St. Cyril and Methodius ”has been adapted for a complex center“ Flag of Peace ”. The school is owned by the Municipality of Kyustendil and has been declared a cultural monument.
Recommended
- Emfiedzhieva house
- Roman baths
- Ilio Voivoda Museum
- Dervish bath
- Dimitar Peshev Museum
- Regional Historical Museum "Academician Yordan Ivanov"