Church of St. Nicholas
Overview
St. Nicholas or St. Nicholas is a parish Orthodox church in the town of Karlovo, part of the Plovdiv Diocese of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church.
The church was built in 1847 by master builders from Karlovo and Bratsigovo according to a project by master Nikola Troyanov. The icons were painted by Nikola Dospevski and Ivan Zografski. Icons for the temple are also painted by the Debar master Apostol Hristov.
In the church in 1858 the day of the holy brothers Cyril and Methodius was celebrated for the first time in Karlovo.
On July 20, 1877, many women, men and children hiding there were slaughtered in the temple. There is a memorial sign on the southwest wall, at the place where the slaughter took place.
The large icons, the iconostasis and the bishop's throne in the church are the work of painters and carvers from the Debar Art School - Nestor Trayanov, Kuzman Makriev, Nestor Trayanov, Anton Stanishev and others. The bell tower of the church was built in 1890.
In the yard of the church next to the north wall is the grave of Gina Kuncheva, the mother of Vasil Levski.
Recommended
- Karlovo Historical Museum
- Church of the Assumption of the Blessed Virgin
- National Museum "Vasil Levski"