Borovo oko /Pine Eye/-Perlata Park

(0 reviews)
$
Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

It all started in 1932, when the pine forest south of the city (Borovets area) was declared a city park. On April 5, 1935, the municipal authorities decided to close the two brickyards west of the park, where tiles and bricks had been made from Beliya Bair soil for almost a century. In the first half of the 1940s, this excavation was used as a shooting range by the local garrison, and in the second half it was connected to the Vrana River by a canal and turned into a fishpond.

In 1956, a conceptual design was prepared for the shore of the fishpond to build a restaurant-casino called "Borovo oko", and then - a sports field, fountains and playgrounds. The project is implemented through the voluntary work of Targovishte residents. At the end of the 1960s, “sculptural plastic design of the city parks was started, incl. and Borovo oko.

The park is located in the southwestern part of Targovishte. Nearby are the city stadium "Dimitar Burkov" and the Art Gallery "Nikola Marinov", where every year the spring fair "Exhibition Targovishte" is held.

The most romantic part of "Borovo oko" is the lake. It remembers floating swans in its waters, water wheels, rowing boats, and in winter it regularly turns into an ice rink. One of the surprises at the moment are water lilies.

Recommended

  • Hadji Angelova House-Museum
  • Targovishte Regional History Museum
  • Slaveikovo's School
  • Misionis (fortress)
  • Waterfall in the Boaza area
  • Aerospace Park - Museum
  • Beli Lom Dam
  • Veliki Preslav (archeological reserve)
  • Okoto Osmar/ Osmar's eye/

Location & Maps

Търговище (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)

Similar places