Holy Trinity Church in the village of Gueshevo

(0 reviews)
$
Достъп с автомобил Достъп с автомобил

Overview

"Holy Trinity" is an Orthodox church-ossuary in Bulgaria, built in memory of the fallen Bulgarian officers and soldiers in the Inter-Allied and the First World War (1915 - 1918) in the battles fought on the outskirts of the village of Gueshevo. It is located about 20 km from Kyustendil. In 1925 an initiative committee of 17 people was established in Gueshevo, headed by the commander of the border post Vladimir Yordanov, who chose the northwestern region as the place of its construction. Stoimen Angelov-Belia donated the place and BGN 100,000 for its construction. The construction project is the work of architect Georgi Ivanov. The laying of the foundation stone began on August 2, 1925 and lasted 5 years, during which construction was supervised by architect Rudolf Fischer. The ossuary church consists of two parts, upper and lower. The upper floor has two floors. On the walls of the church are painted scenes related to the military saints St. Dimitar Solunski, St. George, St. Todor Stratilat, St. Archangel Michael and others. The artists Dimitar Gudzhenov, Dechko Mindov, Prof. Nikola Kozhuharov, Prof. Georgi Hristov took part in the painting of the church. The woodcarving of the iconostasis was made by Radomir Mandov, Vladimir Naumov and a sculpture by Stefan Stoyanov. The terrain allows the architect to build a ground floor of solid stones, where the ossuary is located. In the temple there is a plaque with the inscription "Built during the reign of His Majesty Boris III - King of the Bulgarians". The church was opened on August 3, 1930 by Metropolitan Stefan Sofiyski in the presence of the Minister of War, Major General Nikola Bakardzhiev, the mayor of Kyustendil and representatives of the Holy Synod.

Recommended

  • Hisarlaka Fortress
  • Kyustendil Zoo Park
  • Centuries-old redwoods park

Location & Maps

с. Гюешево, община Кюстендил (Direction)

Contact Info

Review (0)